Board of Directors

The Board of Directors for the Ghent Neighborhood League holds an annual June meeting, per the governing by-laws. At that time, committee chairs are assigned, the budget is proposed and priorities are established. Membership meetings convene the third Thursday of the month at 739 Yarmouth Street, previously the Unitarian Church located across from the Chrysler Museum, 6:30 p.m.

Looking at the GNL’s efforts over these past few years, and its direction going forward, the Board of Directors continues to focus on three key categories.  These are: neighborhood security and safety, neighborhood infrastructure and effective means of communication with the membership. These priorities meld with the standing and ad hoc committees.

Security includes involving people with the collective health of our neighborhood.  Several crime corridors need attention, and we propose we each do our part in helping to maintain a safe neighborhood.

Officers, who are elected every year

Emily Birknes - President

Nat McCormick – 1st Vice President

Paige Rose - 2nd Vice President

Larry Brett - Treasurer

Catherine Kilduff - Secretary

Michael Spencer - Immediate Past President

General Board Members, who are elected for two-year terms

George Kello (2020)

Robert Kelly (2020)

Jeremy McGee (2021)

Sarah Jane Ward-Petroske (2020)

Karen Reynes (2021)

Jean Webster (2021)


Community Resource Officer Samantha Perez


Norfolk Cares


For all general inquiries please email: